Skip navigation

What do you want for your birthday, son?

I want a train and a truck, daddy
a train to go fast, just like you
and a truck to move the dirt, to build a mountain as tall as you are

What do you want for your birthday, son?

I want a video game like all the other kids have
and to go to the roller coaster and the water slide
let’s watch the big splashes and hear people screaming

What do you want for your birthday, son?

I want a bike that can take big jumps and a telescope
so me and my best friend can build ramps and ride
all the way to the stars

What do you want for your birthday, son?

I want a girlfriend, dad, to take on a date
someone told me they kiss really good if they like you
I think they’re lying, but I’m up for trying

What do you want for your birthday, son?

I want a fast car, dad
maybe I’ll catch a hot girl if I drive fast enough
drive fast enough to escape my fear of rejection

What do you want for your birthday, son?

I want a job, dad, so I don’t feel so worthless
so I don’t have to make up excuses for friends anymore
why I can’t take a lady out to dinner

What do you want for your birthday, son?

I want you and mom to get back together again, dad
for things to be like they were, happy faced
before you showed me the wrong way some things are done

What do you want for your birthday, son?

I want a girlfriend, dad, to kiss and hug and take on a date
maybe even tell her I love her (after sufficient time, of course)
we can give the world a child, so I can ask him,

What do you want for your birthday, son?

Leave a Reply

